# US-ROK-Japan Extended Deterrence Trilateral Participant List

Hosted by: Pacific Forum CSIS and the Asan Institute for Policy Studies Date: September 2-3, 2013 Place: Conference Room (2F), The Asan Institute for Policy Studies

#### **Participant List**

#### Korea

Gen. AHN Kwang-chan (Ret.) Chair Professor Dankook University

Dr. CHEON Seong-Whun President Korea Institute for National Unification

Dr. CHO Nam Hoon Policy Adviser to the Minister Ministry of National Defense

Dr. CHOI Kang Vice President The Asan Institute for Policy Studies

Dr. KIM Hankwon Research Fellow The Asan Institute for Policy Studies

# Japan

Dr. Hiroyasu AKUTSU Senior Fellow, Northeast Asia Division Regional Studies Department National Institute for Defense Studies

Mr. Takehiro FUNAKOSHI Minister Head of Political Section Ministry of Foreign Affairs Embassy of Japan

Mr. Yoshiyasu ISEKI Counselor Embassy of Japan, Korea

# US

Mr. Ralph A. COSSA President, Pacific Forum CSIS Dr. KIM Young-ho Professor Department of International Relations Korea National Defense University

Dr. LEE Chung Min Professor Yonsei University

Dr. LEE Sang Hyun Director of Security Strategy Studies The Sejong Institute

Dr. PARK Jae-Jeok Research Fellow Center for International Relations Studies Korea Institute for National Unification

Dr. WOO Jung-Yeop Research Fellow The Asan Institute for Policy Studies

Dr. Ken JIMBO Assistant Professor Keio University

Ms. Ayako SHIMIZU Japan-US Security Treaty Division North American Affairs Bureau Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Japan

Mr. Sugio TAKAHASHI Senior Fellow Policy Studies Department The National Institute for Defense Studies

Col. Masashi YAMAMO Counselor Japan Embassy, Korea

Ms. Nicole FORRESTER Director – Young Leaders Program Pacific Forum CSIS Mr. Markus V. GARLAUSKAS Director of Strategy, US Forces Korea

Mr. Brad GLOSSERMAN Executive Director, Pacific Forum CSIS

Dr. Robert H. GROMOLL Director Office of Regional Affairs (ISN/RA) US Dept. of State

Mr. Bryan PORT Deputy Directory & Command Senior Advisor for Strategic Communication UNC/CFC/USFK

Ms. Lori SHOEMAKER Political Officer, US Embassy Seoul

#### **Pacific Forum CSIS Young Leaders**

Ms. Sunna AN (KOR) Graduate Student, Yonsei University

Mr. Young-June CHUNG (KOR) PhD Candidate China Foreign Affairs University

Ms. Lisa Dalem COLLINS (USA) Program Officer International Law and Conflict Resolution Center, Asan Institute for Policy Studies

Ms. Darcie DRAUDT (USA) Assistant Editor, Sino-NK

Dr. Ryo HINATA-YAMAGUCHI (JPN) Adjunct Research Fellow Pacific Forum CSIS

Mr. Chin-Hao HUANG (THA/TWN) PhD Candidate University of Southern California

Mr. Akira IGATA (JPN) Doctoral Student, Keio University

Ms. Stephanie Nayoung KANG (USA)

Dr. Shane SMITH Research Fellow, Center for the Study of Weapons of Mass Destruction National Defense University

Dr. Eric V. THOMPSON Vice President and Director, Strategic Studies Center for Naval Analyses

Mr. Michael URENA Strategic Engagement Division Office of Strategic Affairs Bureau of Arms Control, Compliance and Verification US Department of State

Mr. Joe YOUNG Acting Foreign Policy Advisor US Pacific Command

Resident Kelly Fellow Pacific Forum CSIS

Ms. ChungAhn (Jung-Ahn) KIM (KOR) Reporter, DongA Daily & ChannelA

Mr. Joseph Boyd LENOX (USA) Intern, International Crisis Group

Mr. Jonathan MILLER (USA/CAN) Senior Policy Officer, Asia-Pacific Desk Canada Border Services Agency

Mr. Joseph OH (USA) Operational Net Assessment analyst United States Forces Korea future operations plans division

Ms. Aiko SHIMIZU (JPN) Resident SPF Fellow Pacific Forum CSIS

Mr. Timothy STAFFORD (GBR) Associate Fellow, Henry Jackson Society Georgetown University

Ms. Oknam YI (KOR) PhD Candidate, Kyung Hee University